top of page


Every state has a set of time limits for the filing of lawsuits and other civil actions called "statutes of limitations" that depend on the type of case or procedure. The following are some statutes that may affect your potential case:


Written: 4 years;

Oral: 2 years

Injury to Person

Personal injury: 2 years from the wrong;

False imprisonment: 1 year from the wrong

Personal Malpractice

Legal: 1 year from discovery, maximum of 4 years from the wrong;


Medical: In California, you generally have 1 year from the date that you knew or should have known of the medical malpractice, or 3 years from the date of the malpractice, whichever occurs first, to file a complaint with the Superior Court of California against the medical providers at fault for causing injuries;

Veterinary: 1 year for injury or death of animal

Governmental Tort Claim

Personal Injury: Must file a Administrative Claim with the governmental agency within 6 months of the incident.

Anchor 1
bottom of page